Reset or Erase your new QuickBooks Online Company

Learn how to reset or erase your QuickBooks Online company (started fewer than 60 days ago) so that you can start over from scratch setting up your company.

Many users who are new to QuickBooks Online or bookkeeping for their small business may find that one month in, they’ve set up their QuickBooks Online company incorrectly.

Rather than go back and manually reverse every transaction, it may be easier to just purge, or erase, everything and start over. Keep the following two warnings in mind:

Your QuickBooks Online company must be fewer than 60 days old.

You’ll lose everything that you’ve entered into your company, including customers, transactions, and accounts.

If it has been more than 60 days, you’ll need to start a new QuickBooks Online company instead. Contact QuickBooks Online about your subscription (if you have one) or cancel and resubscribe to the new company.

Setting up your QuickBooks Online company for Amazon? Check out our article for a list of tips and advice. You’ll also find a link to our comprehensive guide for accounting for the most common Amazon transactions on that page.

How to Reset or Erase your QuickBooks Online Company

To reset your company, log into the QuickBooks Online company that you want to erase. Remember, your QuickBooks Online company must be fewer than 60 days old in order to be able to reset or purge.

  • Make sure you’re on the homepage or dashboard for your QuickBooks Online company
    • It may look like this: https://c13.qbo.intuit.com/app/homepage
  • Add /purgecompany to the end of the URL above
  • Read the warning and type “YES” in the box and click on OK
  • Follow the prompts to complete the purge
    • If you’re connecting any apps, you may want to wait 24 hours for the purge to complete on the backend

Simply click on Dashboard on the left navigation menu to go back to your homepage for QuickBooks Online.

Then add “/purgecompany” to the end of the URL and follow the prompts to completely erase your QuickBooks Online company. Remember: you will lose all data, so make sure you have everything you need exported and saved.

You should receive a verification prompt after. Type in YES and then click on OK. Your company will be reset and everything erased.

That’s it! Now set up your QuickBooks Online company the way you want!

Cancel Subscription if You Can’t Purge Your Company

If you no longer want to use QuickBooks Online or your company is older than 60 days, make sure you cancel your subscription before you start a new one.

  • Click on Gear Icon > Accounts and Settings
  • Go to Billing & Subscription
  • Click on Cancel Subscription

To cancel your subscription, go to your settings through the Gear icon and then Account and Settings.

Gear Icon Account and Settings

Click on Billing & Subscription and then Cancel subscription. Follow the prompts to confirm and complete your cancellation.

If you’re starting a new company, you can simply sign up for a new company using the same email address. Your old companies will remain attached to your email address for a year before it drops off, so you’ll have plenty of time to access any data you may need from them.

Like this article and want to read more helpful articles about QuickBooks Online? Check out the following articles below: